Mermaids, Pixies, Trolls, Fairies, Elves, Snergs, Selkies, Imps and other mythical creatures bring exciting adventure in M. C. Arvanitis's books.


M. C. Arvanitis, author and story teller, began her career with a series of mid grade books she called 'fables'---a  legend or myth of mystical creatures, often with a moral, expanding her genrue to YA historical series. She now plans to extent her story telling to the many picture books she wrote during her teaching career. M. C. Arvanitis resides in Newport, Oregon. She has a degree in Early Childhood Education, and has taught preschool and early elementary for over thirty years until her retirement two years ago. Her short stories have been published in Skipping Stones Magazine, Totline Teaching Tales (Warren Publishing Co.), and Building Blocks for Bright Beginnings. All published as e-books. All but her latest, 'Pixies of the Fern' are available as print books.

All are on e-boooks, ready for your e-reader. 

Short Previews of her Books 

The Legend of ELPanda Paws

What happens when the Ughlies capture a lost panda?

For hundreds of years the Claus Corporation has contracted with the ELVanites to make Love Bears, which are delivered to seriously ill children around the world. Only Elves with love and happiness in their hearts can make the bears properly---insuring that each bear carries love and comfort these children  need. Frowning, fussing, criticizing and crying are rarely seen or heard. The ELVanites know that negaative feelings bring on unhappiness and disease.  So whwen ELVina, Head of Production, finds her elf workers suddenly afflicted with the negative disease, an illness that makes them slow and careless she becomes worried.
"What is going on, ELVina?" Inspector ELMonte asks. "I have never seen so many unacceptable bears come from this factory. The work is sloppy and certainly will not meet Mr. Claus's standards."ELVina blows her nose and hangs her head, unable to speak for a moment. She starts to cry. "I have been feeling depressed also.” "There, there, now." Inspector ELMonte places a comforting arm on her shoulder. “We'll work it out.” But ELVina cannot be comforted. She knows that if the Love Bears are not made in time the Claus Corporation will not renew their contract for next year. No contract---no work; no work---no pay; the ELVanites will starve.

Forbidden Wings, A Mermaid's Story

Could this be a mermaid's best friend?

Nadeea is shorter than the other Mermaids and finds life unbearable. She meets two fairies, Cassandra and Alex, and admires their beautiful wings. She wants wings for herself so she can escape from the teasing she receives from the other Mermaids. When Sir Cecil, the Snerg, promises to help her find wings she agrees to go on a long dangerous journey to Wyre, the home of the Damselflies. Sadie Squarette, a magic-making, bug-like poet, is their guide. They cross the Island of Egilssay where she meets Zasta, a Selkie, who becomes her best friend. There is danger in the island however. They must cross the land of the Trows where a mighty battle is going on between the Sea and Hill Trows. Trows not only kill each other, they kill anyone who crosses over their land. Sadie uses her unique magic to save them. Finally they reach the Island of Wyre where Nadeea hopes to get wings. She bravely faces Gwilon, the Goat Witch, and saves the queen of the Damselflies. When she learns that her Mer family has been captured by the dreaded Sea Lions and taken into slavery, she has to make a decision. Will she wait for her wings or leave with the Selkie Army to rescue her family?

Can be purchased at Amazon.com
Forbidden Wings, A Mermaid's Story
Or at Smashwords.com
Forbidden Wings, a Mermaid's Story

Pixies of the Fern: Fernella's Magic

Is This Rabbit the Puk-Wud-Jie, Fernella needs to help her find her magic?

This tale takes place in the beautiful mountains of Oregon, and tells of the adventure of a young Pixie. Fernella, as the seventh daughter of the Mayor of Fernsville, must find her magic before her father will give his blessings to her marriage with Freddie. When the humans threaten to develop the forest, which will destroy the Fern Pixies’ village, Fernella and Freddy take off in his flyer to find a new place to live. The flyer crashes leaving Freddie badly injured. When Fernella goes to find help, she gets lost in the wilds of the Mt. Hood foothills. While fleeing the arrows of the vicious flying Imps, she is captured by moles and imprisoned in their underground dungeon. There she meets Puck, the mischievous Puk-Wud-Jie. But what good is he? He knows what her magic is but refuses to tell her. Who will help her escape? How can she find help for Freddy? And above all how will she find her magic?

Can be purchased at Amazon.com

The Hank of Twin River Series

Book One: Journey of Change

In 1855 cholera takes twelve-year-old, Hank Heaton's mother. His strict and domineering father, sorrowing himself, gives his son no comfort. Hank’s only comforts are his wisecracking, fiddle-playing Irish uncle, and his pet cow, Clementine. When Pa decides to homestead land in western Nebraska, Hank rebels. Pa’s discipline is quick and painful and Hank has to obey. They follow the emigrants’ trail from Iowa along the Missouri River to the merging Platte Rivers in western Nebraska. The unpredictable mid-western weather,  wind and hailstorms, dust storms,  blizzards, and flash floods, along with stampeding buffalo, murdering claim jumpers,  rattlesnakes, and a belligerent goose provide plenty of challenges for a pioneer boy.
His troubles are lightened when he finds friends along the trail: Rusty, a Southern boy from Missouri; Nora, a teasing eight-year-old girl from Wisconsin, and the preacher’s daughter, the love of his life

Hank of Twin Rivers, Book One, Journey of Change
Can be purchased at Amazon.com
 at Smashwords.com



Book Two of Hank of Twin Rivers series

Meet M.C. Arvanitis at her FB page.